Home > Friday Felid > The Final Friday Felid (#38)

The Final Friday Felid (#38)

October 16, 2009

lion-hunt-06.jpg

Lion, Panthera leo L.

(source)

And with that we bring our Friday Felid feature to an end. In a few weeks I will unveil a new series. Feel free to make suggestions about taxa you’d like to see being featured.

  1. Doc Bill
    October 16, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    How about cats?

  2. Cameron
    October 16, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Reptiles?

  3. October 16, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    It has to be canids, right? Either that or equines.

  4. HP
    October 16, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Corvids! Nobody does corvids, they’re incredibly cool, and there’s 120 species in corvidae — over two years’ worth. You should totally do a weekly corvid. Yay!

  5. HP
    October 16, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    You know, just the other day I thought I saw two magpies (it was a brief flash of black-and-white passerine disappearing into the brush), but I shouldn’t have, because I’m in Ohio and Pica hudsonia isn’t supposed to be here according to the Internet.

    Corvids!

  6. afarensis, FCD
    October 17, 2009 at 6:45 am

    I was going to say Bovidae, but then I saw HP’s sugestion. I second Corvids. I’m currently reading Bernd Heinrich’s Mind of the Raven and have become quite taken with corvids. They are almost as cool as Octopuses and Primates.

  7. Moose Kramden
    October 17, 2009 at 6:49 am

    Mooses!

  8. Wes
    October 17, 2009 at 8:27 am

    Saturday cetacean?

    Thursday theropod?

    Cnuesday cnidarian?

  9. Stu
    October 18, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    Testudines would be a change of pace.

  10. October 20, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    I’ve really enjoyed the Friday Felids, thanks.

    I like the Saturday cetacean suggestion.

  11. October 21, 2009 at 12:20 am

    My first impulse is to go with canids … after all I was a carnivore biologist in a past life. Corvids (or raptors) would also be a good choice, but may be limited by the number of good photos available. Cetaceans would also work but I’m not sure they show enough diversity to be interesting. I need to think more on this.

    And Stu should get some sort of award for making me groan.

  12. October 21, 2009 at 12:21 am

    Bovids or cervids are another option.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

