Home > Technology > My Second Computer

My Second Computer

October 24, 2009

320px-Commodore64.jpg

Details here.

  1. ERV
    October 24, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    *giggle*

  2. October 24, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    My first “computer” was a dumb terminal, a Control Data Corporation 713 monstrosity, that I used to access mainframes over a telephone line, initially at 300 baud.

    But I was using emacs back then with that terminal, and here’s the proof:

    http://web.mit.edu/multics-history/source/ldd_listings/unb_2/cdc713.ctl.list

  3. Seamus
    October 24, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    Aaah..there she is!
    So much better than the Vic 20 we had at home! 3.5k ram….what a monster!!
    I was always so jealous of the superior graphics that 64k allowed!!
    I remember the hours I spent typing in code from magazines..but the games never worked!! I could type “poke” in about 0.5 seconds….

    Did you not also have a ZX Spectrum? or was that after the Commodore 64? I seem to recall bits of entrails between the ZX81 and the spectrum floating about, and explanations on the finer points of assembly language vs machine code….

  4. October 25, 2009 at 1:38 am

    Bloody hell, that was my second computer too (after a ZX81).

    Well, actually we had a Dragon 32 for a short time, but we lost too many mice in it.

  5. DLC
    October 30, 2009 at 6:55 am

    yeah, my friend Bob had one of those.
    I couldn’t afford it. Later on I would wind up with an IBM-Clone intel 386/25 . I thought it screamed.
    I bought it despite really wanting an Amiga 1000.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

