Home > Friday Falconiform > Friday Falconiform #11

Friday Falconiform #11

February 5, 2010

44921790_321d206bc2.jpg

Accipitridae / Accipitrinae / Elanus leucurus / White-tailed Kite

(source)

  1. HP
    February 6, 2010 at 1:03 am

    Okay. So, last weekend I was out shopping. The nearest major body of water was the Ohio river, about 20 miles away. While I was in this suburban shopping center in southwest Ohio, I looked up to see two birds that had the coloration of typical gulls but the body forms and flight style of falconiformes. They were extraordinarily lovely, and I was without a clue.

    Based on the description of E. leucaris I found, these two birds were superficially similar, but they were well outside the range where these birds are found. Does anyone have a clue what I might have seen? (I’ve seen some lovely birds since I moved to this part of North America, but nothing like this pair of white-and-black falconiform birds circling over a suburban shopping center.)

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

