Home > Anti-evolution, Intelligent Design > Origins: Is There A Theory of Design?

Origins: Is There A Theory of Design?

April 17, 2010

This week we’re examining Behe‘s claims regarding “irreducible complexity” and Dembski‘s “explanatory filter” and “complex specified information“. If there’s a theory to ID, surely we will find it in these ideas. Am I right?

  1. John S. Wilkins
    April 17, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    The theory of design was given clearly in Margaret Boden’s The Creative Mind. It is, of course, very much like a selectionist theory…

  2. April 18, 2010 at 8:13 am

    Hi John,

    I haven’t checked for the other people you listed in slide 169 (I assume the figure is meant to be a colorful zero), but you need to update that slide for Axe and Sternberg:

    Axe: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18523658

    Sternberg: http://www.springerlink.com/content/j5n37285883kk210/

    I think you’d find both of these articles interesting, btw.

  3. April 18, 2010 at 11:33 am

    Paul Nelson :

    I haven’t checked for the other people you listed in slide 169 (I assume the figure is meant to be a colorful zero), but you need to update that slide for Axe and Sternberg

    Actually, the figure is some sort of bastard pie chart that Powerpoint had. So it’s not a “colorful zero” (even I’m not that cynical) but actually breaks down the number of papers per individual at the Biologic Institute. Thanks for seeking clarification, though … one of the downsides of not being able to record the presentations as I wished.

  4. April 18, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    Thanks for the clarification! “Bastard Pie Chart” sounds like the name of a Dada-influenced jazz combo. ;-)

  5. Christina Raup
    April 18, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    … one of the downsides of not being able to record the presentations as I wished.

    Would Camtasia Studio not work? I was thinking that as I was looking through these slides, because I’d love to hear what you said about a lot of this stuff!

  6. April 18, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Christina Raup :

    Would Camtasia Studio not work? I was thinking that as I was looking through these slides, because I’d love to hear what you said about a lot of this stuff!

    Actually, probably not. I tried Profcast, but their latest version craps out. Maybe next year!

  7. SWT
    April 24, 2010 at 6:04 am

    John M. Lynch :

    Christina Raup :
    … I’d love to hear what you said about a lot of this stuff!

    Actually, probably not. I tried Profcast, but their latest version craps out. Maybe next year!

    FWIW, I second Christina Raup’s sentiment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

