Home > Bits and Pieces > Some thoughts

Some thoughts

May 18, 2009

I was blogging over at Scienceblogs for nearly three and a half years. In that time I amassed 726,720 visits and 1,126,255 page views (averaging 481& 630 per day). I also had 669 Feedburner readers. Not exactly Pharyngulesque numbers but enough to keep me happy. I have a sneaking suspicion that things are going to be a little quieter here. Not to worry.

I’ve imported all the old posts here but for some reason WordPress stripped away embedded videos, so some of the posts don’t make much sense. In addition, links to posts go back to the old blog, not to my posts here and images are still hosted on the Sb server.

One of the things I’m interested in keeping an eye on is how quickly my hit rate over at the old place drops off. More on that in the future, no doubt.

Lastly, the Friday Felid will return in early June.

  1. May 19, 2009 at 5:57 am

    I think you might be surprised by how many people follow you over here.

    Ted

  2. May 19, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    The important thing is to keep blogging. Your loyal readers (such as me) care about that, not the web neighborhood.

    I confess I’m curious, however, why you left Scienceblogs.

    Hey — did you ever finish reading Gould’s Structure of Ev Theory?

  3. May 20, 2009 at 5:47 am

    Well I, for one, refuse to follow you across.

    Doh!

    I’ve frequented the scienceblogs site for a few years but have started to get somewhat disillusioned with it of late.
    There is the inevitable problem inherent to any popular messageboard that cliques form that cannot stand dissent (just try criticising something that PZ has posted and see how long it takes for you to get labelled a ‘concern troll’ and attacked by his sycophants. The second problem is that, while the idea of a popular science messageboard is good in principle it doesnt work in practice. Many debates inevitably stray away from empirical data towards political opinions. Its impossible to have a straighforward discussion in such a circumstance since the participants are using different groundrules. And finally one thing I’ve onoy recently realized is the fact that while scienceblogs has a sort of unofficial mantra of sciencebloggers good, science journalists bad there is failure to recognise that bloggers are also journalists to some extent. Quite often bloggers are just as guilty of the sort of misdemeanors that they accuse journalists of doing (sloppy reading of manuscripts, bad statistical analysis, failure to fact-check etc). And yet blogging exposes their shoddy work to far more people than would ever read the original manuscript.
    Good journalism has at least some sort of (editorial) review before its published (well at least thats the theory). Science bloggers have no such quality control mechanism and quite often it shows up in their work.

  4. May 20, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    @ Paul [2]

    Never finished Gould – teaching and real life kept getting in the way 🙂

    I don’t think I’m ready to say why I left Sb beyond noting a general feeling that it was time to move on after over three years.

  5. llewelly
    May 24, 2009 at 7:40 am

    I’ve onoy recently realized is the fact that while scienceblogs has a sort of unofficial mantra of sciencebloggers good, science journalists bad there is failure to recognise that bloggers are also journalists to some extent.

    Bloggers have a reputation of being biased amateurs of variable skill and dubious reliability. Traditional reporters have a reputation for being highly skilled professionals, of impeccable reliability, who practise ‘balanced’ reporting.

    In other words – bloggers have the reputation they deserve, and are thus treated with a slightly more appropriate degree of skepticism. Traditional reporters, on the other hand, have a wholly undeserved reputation.

  6. May 26, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    Count me in. Speaking merely as a reader, I think Sb is fine if notably uneven. But it did get my attention when both you and John Wilkins moved on at the same time. I found you to be two of the more thoughtful commentators and you departure will affect my view of Sb. Anyway, blog on, and I’ll get you and John linked at my blog in celebration.

  7. afarensis, FCD
    June 5, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    My hits at ScienceBlogs went down fairly quickly after I left and are very, very low, here at wordpress. I had some weirdness importing my old posts – duplicates, post becoming uncategorized. My biggest problem is that, even though I have made the blog visible to search engines Google’s blog search does not pick it up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
