Home > Bits and Pieces > Things to do, places to see …

Things to do, places to see …

May 20, 2009

n10057594_41004393_2490.jpg

I’m heading out of town for a while with a trip to Athens (photo above taken on my 2008 trip), Heraklion and Santorini. I’ll be back blogging in early June.

  1. Lettuce
    May 21, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    I have to say…

    It’s nice your still writing. I’ve followed several places, and while I don’t agree with everything you do write, I’m extremely happy you still do.

  2. May 21, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    cool dog…

  3. May 22, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    I can only hope that the dog didn’t do to the statue what they do to other objects…

    On the flip side, I’m glad I found you again. I wigged out when I noticed that you weren’t in the list of blogs for scienceblogs anymore.

  4. afarensis, FCD
    May 23, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Have fun in Greece! Drink some Ouzo for me!

  5. Crudely Wrott
    May 28, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    Thanks for continuing, John. I’ve been tagging along for a couple of years because I find your ideas engaging and you have the expertise to provide a foundation for them.

    Tell you what. You blog, I’ll read. I’ll probably learn something and comment some. Works for me.

    The picture reminds me of a song I heard. Can’t say right now who the artist was but I remember the lyrics. The tune is kind of a lazy, flat pickin’ country style with a touch of blues.

    “Clyde plays electric bass
    He plays it with finesse and grace
    Sit on the porch without no shoes
    Pickin’ that bass and singin’ the blues.

    Now Clyde he likes company
    And his ol’ hound sings harmony
    Tambourine tied to his tail
    You can hear him moan
    You can hear him wail.

    Joline baby, she got a dollar
    And down the road you can hear her holler
    ‘Get up, Clyde, we got sompin’ to do
    That ol’ dog can sing the blues.'”

    Wait! Leo Kottke. *i knew i knew who*

  6. May 28, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    Wait! Leo Kottke. *i knew i knew who*

    Clyde is from J.J. Cale’s debut album Naturally (1971 Shelter Records) and it’s my retirement song. Only condition my porch has to be in Provence in the Calanques. Only way to live!

  7. Crudely Wrott
    May 29, 2009 at 6:06 am

    Thanks for the clarification, Thony C.

    I didn’t think Kottke wrote the song but his is the only version I’ve heard. I see a copy of Cale’s album in my collection soon.

    Good luck with that porch!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
