Home > Bits and Pieces > Apparently 93% won’t forward

Apparently 93% won’t forward

August 14, 2009

One of the “features” of Gmail is that it ignores periods in address. This means I get e-mail for john.lynch (me) and johnlynch (usually not me). Some of this is annoying as some of the John Lynchs out there use the address for mailings from RV dealerships, political tea-bagging groups, scuba diving lessons, X-Box Live, their graduate program, etc without ever realizing that they never get the mail. I’ve even once gotten an credit card number. Today “I” received this:

A SMALL REQUEST

THIS IS PRETTY NEAT. 93 % won’t forward

A small request.. Just one line

Dear God, I pray for the cure of cancer. Amen

93% WON’T FORWARD THIS …WILL YOU? PLEASE?

It was of course a mass-mailing. Ignoring the fact that it was not “just one line,” I was tempted to reply-to-all with the following:

A SMALL REQUEST

THIS IS PRETTY NEAT. 93 % won’t forward

A small request.. Just one line

There’s probably no god. Now stop worrying and enjoy your life.

93% WON’T FORWARD THIS …WILL YOU? PLEASE?

That would have been interesting.

  1. DLC
    August 14, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    I like that. I even considered setting up a sig file for my emails with that- something i’ve never bothered with before.

  2. J-Dog
    August 15, 2009 at 11:26 am

    Do it! I think Ken Ham, and all the DI Fellows would reeally like to receive it. Oh, and don’t forget CEO of Whole Foods John Mackey and Glenn “Cry Me A River” Beck.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
