Home > Politics > Irish Blasphemy Law Goes Into Effect

Irish Blasphemy Law Goes Into Effect

January 1, 2010

In Ireland, blasphemy is now a crime punishable by a €25,000 fine. This is somewhat ironic considering Michael Martin (the Irish Minister for Foreign Affairs) had the following to say to the UN in 2009:

We believe that the concept of defamation of religion is not consistent with the promotion and protection of human rights. It can be used to justify arbitrary limitations on, or the denial of, freedom of expression. Indeed, Ireland considers that freedom of expression is a key and inherent element in the manifestation of freedom of thought and conscience and as such is complementary to freedom of religion or belief. (source)

Yet another reason for me not to return to the land whence I came. This medieval stupidity is almost enough to make me renounce my citizenship.

(I’ve posted on this stupidity before).

