Home > Anti-evolution, In Their Own Words > Dembski’s stand

Dembski’s stand

January 7, 2010

The following is from Dembski. It’s worth archiving if only because it is the clearest statement by him so far as to where he stands on the YEC-OEC axis:

I subscribe to the Baptist Faith and Message 2000 as well as the Chicago Statement on Biblical Inerrancy. I believe Adam and Eve were literal historical persons specially created by God. I am not … a theistic evolutionist. Within the Southern Baptist seminaries, both old-earth and young-earth creationism are accepted positions. True, young-earth creationism remains the majority view in the SBC, but it is not a litmus test for Christian orthodoxy within the SBC. I’m an old-earth creationist [OEC] … I don’t endorse evolutionary theory, as all my books on intelligent design demonstrate (search my name on the Internet, and you’ll find that I’m often called an “anti-evolutionist”).

Such candor is relatively refreshing but now that Dembski has come out as an OEC, will he now denounce some of the scientific idiocy of the YEC camp? Probably not, given the past history of ID proponents such as Philip Johnson who has refused to do so.

